Cichlidiot (cich·lid·i·ot)

Fishkeeping for the masses

  • cich·lid : Any of various tropical and subtropical freshwater fishes of the family Cichlidae, many of which are popular as aquarium fish
  • id·i·ot : A foolish or stupid person
  • All original content is © 2006-2007 Cichlidiot.

New Year Resolutions

Posted by cichlidiot on January 1, 2007

Similar to everyone else, I’ve taken some time off today to look back at the year that was and to make my resolutions for 2007. While I do have a lot of personal resolutions, I’ve decided to make a few resolutions that pertain specifically to fishkeeping. It’s quite embarrassing to admit, but I sometimes find myself ignoring the very advice I give other people interested in fishkeeping as a hobby. So, without further ado, here are my resolutions for the new year.

Quarantine new fish: One of the most important and basic practices in fishkeeping, I haven’t really quarantined a new fish in a really long time. While I haven’t had any fatalities as a result of my non-existent quarantine procedures, I’m pretty sure I would feel really dumb if I lose some fish by not isolating newly purchased fish. As they say, better safe than sorry.

Spend at least 10 minutes daily observing my fish: Sometimes, the hustle and bustle of everyday life takes over and I end up just asking someone else to feed my fish. The downside with this is that feeding time is, in almost every case, the time when a fishkeeper finds out that something significant, such as a malfunctioning filter or a disease outbreak, has occurred. Just last October, I failed to recognize that two of my six Neolamprologus brichardi paired up and spawned. As a result, the fry count was only four, probably because the others died due to hunger, as I wasn’t able to hatch enough baby brine shrimp (BBS) in time to feed all of them.

Purchase test kits and monitor water parameters regularly: It’s quite comical, really, how I have 8 aquariums of various sizes, and not a single test kit for any of the major water parameters. I used to have some before, but I never bought more once I ran out. It must be the cheapskate in me, considering the price of such kits. Then again, every hobby ends up being more expensive than anticipated, once taken seriously. That being the case, I’m off to look for test kits for pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate this weekend and probably test my water parameters weekly.

Hopefully, I have more success keeping these resolutions than I did in trying to keep the ones I made last year…

2 Responses to “New Year Resolutions”

  1. avuee said

    I can’t even make them. Actually, I did make one. It was to try and swear less. So this is what happened to make the first day of the new year sour. It was raining, I had an umbrealla in my hand, plus handbag and Starbucks coffee. I was opening the store, put my key in the door, and dropped all my belongings– and while I had the door open, I’ve only got 60 seconds to make my way to the office and shut off the alarm.

  2. anniesf said

    ~★★   ★★~
    ★  ∴ ★   ∴°★
    ★        °★ ∴°★
    ★° ° Happii New Year 2007 ★°★
     ★’ ‧ °∴°°☆ ☆ ★ °∴° ∴°★ ☆
      ★ °∴°°☆°∴★ °☆∴聖°∴ ☆
       ★ °∴°°☆★∴°∴ °誕°∴ °☆
        ★°∴★☆∴°∴ 快°∴ °☆
         ★  ☆∴ 樂°∴°☆
          ﹨  ☆   ☆
           ﹨   ☆
            ﹨ /
             ﹨/
              ▏
              \●
               ■\
               /\
    i didn’t make any resolutions yet

Leave a Reply

 
